Friday, June 21, 2024

Jonesboro softball team receives various awards


Jonesboro High School’s softball team finished their season at the end of May after making history by being the first softball team to become state champions for their school.

The Lady Eagles have been honored with a plethora of awards for their hard work and dedication on the field and in the classroom.

The awards include

Academic All-District: Madison Cohn, Lynlee Deats, Ella Gustin, Adalyna Andrade, Kyleigh Walker, and Leighla Hernandez

First Team All-District: Kyleigh Walker, Leighla Hernandez, Julie Henderson, Ella Gustin, and Lynlee Deats

Second Team All-District: Madalyn Smith and Kylee Gould

MVP: Emily Turner

Pitcher of the Year: Adalyna Andrade

Newcomer of the Year: Ally Thorman

Coach of the Year: Amanda LeCroy

State Tournament All-Tournament Team: Emily Turner, Championship Game MVP; Adalyna Andrade, pitcher; Lynlee Deats, second base; Ella Gustin, third base; Leighla Hernandez, outfield

Texas Girls Coaches Association All-State Team: Julie Henderson, junior; Emily Turner, junior; Kyleigh Walker, junior; Adalyna Andrade, sophomore; Lynlee Deats, freshman; Ally Thorman, freshman; Ella Gustin, freshman