Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Early voting starts Oct. 24 for Nov. 8 election


{{{JC edit 10-19

Early voting starts Oct. 24 for Nov. 8 election

By Jeff Osborne

Senior writer & editor

Local voters will have a full slate of political candidates to choose from in the upcoming election, with federal, state and local elections all on the ballot.

While election day is officially Tuesday, Nov. 8, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., early voting begins Monday, Oct. 24. Those interested in voting early can do so at the Coryell County Annex building at 801 E. Leon St. in Gatesville (across from the U.S. Post Office).

Early voting hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday, Oct. 24-28; 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 29; 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 30; 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday to Friday, Oct. 31 to Nov. 4.

On Tuesday, Nov. 8, voting will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at these locations: the Gatesville Civic Center, 303 Veterans Memorial Loop in Gatesville; Evant City Hall, 598 E. Highway 84; Flat Community Center, 159 County Road 334; Oglesby Community Center, 118 Main St.; and Turnersville Community Center, 8115 FM 182.

The following items are on the city of Gatesville ballot: Mayor Gary Chumley (unopposed); Council Ward 1, Place 2, Barbara Burrow (incumbent) vs. Aaron Smith (challenger); Council Ward 2, Place 4, Billy Sinyard (unopposed); and Council Ward 2, Place 6, John Westbrook (unopposed).

Also on the Gatesville city ballot is the abolition of the additional sales and use tax within the city at a rate of 1.5%, which will not change the sales tax rate.

For Gatesville Independent School District, there are three candidates for two positions of the Board of Trustees: Cheyenne Kizer (incumbent); Ginger Kinsey (challenger); and Mary Anne Leib (incumbent).

Oglesby ISD has six candidates for four spots on the Board of Trustees: Joseph Meyers; Kevin Gray; Mike Walter; Dustin LeBlanc; Dustin Roedler; and Dalton Campbell.

The city of Oglesby has three candidates on the ballot: Cathy Newman; David Mosley; and Mike Homan.

Other races include

* U.S. Rep. District 31: Republican John Carter

* Governor: Republican Greg Abbott; Democrat Beto O'Rourke; Libertarian Mark Tippetts; Green Party Delilah Barrios

* Lt. Governor: Republican Dan Patrick; Democrat Mike Collier; Libertarian Shanna Stelle

* Attorney General: Republican Ken Paxton; Democrat Rochelle Mercedes Garza; Libertarian Mark Ash

* Comptroller of Public Accounts: Republican Glenn Hegar; Democrat Janet T. Dudding; Libertarian V. Alonzo Echevarria-Garza

* Commissioner of the General Land Office: Republican Dawn Buckingham; Democrat Jay Kleberg; Green Party Alfred Molison Jr

* Commissioner of Agriculture: Republican Sid Miller; Democrat Susan Hays

* Railroad Commissioner: Republican Wayne Christian; Democrat Luke Warford; Libertarian Jaime Andrews Diez; Green Party Hunter Wayne Crow

* Supreme Court Justice, Place 3: Republican Debra Lehrmann; Democrat Erin A. Nowell; Libertarian Thomas Edward Oxford

* Supreme Court Justice place 5: Republican Rebecca Huddle; Democrat Amanda Reichek

* Supreme Court Justice Place 9: Republican Evan Young; Democrat Julia Maldonado

* Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Republican Scott Walker; Democrat Dana Huffman

* Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Republican Jesse F. McClure III; Democrat Robert Johnson

* State Board of Education Member, District 14: Republican Evelyn Brooks; Democrat Tracy Fisher

* State Senator, District 34: Republican Pete Flores; Democrat Kathy Jones-Hospod

(Note: There are several other unopposed positions for county office that are also listed on the ballot).